Spieth, Stenson receive two-stroke penalty for teeing off wrong hole at Hero

Share it with your friends Like

Thanks! Share it with your friends!

Close

In the final round of the 2021 Hero World Challenge, Jordan Spieth and Henrik Stenson teed off on the par-5 ninth hole from the par-3 17th hole tee box. Both players were assessed a two-stroke penalty and forced to re-tee from the correct tee box. They then discuss the scenario after their final rounds.

SUBSCRIBE to PGA TOUR now: http://pgat.us/vBxcZSh

The Hero World Challenge returns to Albany Golf Club in The Bahamas. Hosted by Tiger Woods, the event features a top-tier field of FedExCup champions, TOUR and global stars. Past FedExCup champions Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Justin Rose and Henrik Stenson are all set to tee it up. Spieth will play for the first time since becoming a father on November 14. He won this event by 10 shots in 2014 when it was contested at Isleworth, setting the stage for his historic 2015 that saw him win two majors and the FedExCup. Collin Morikawa, the highest-ranked player in the field, is fresh off a victory at the DP World Tour Championship that made him the first American to claim the Race to Dubai. Meanwhile, both Brooks Koepka and Bryson DeChambeau are in the field after Friday’s much-discussed match in Las Vegas, which Koepka won convincingly. Other players to look out for include Justin Rose, Xander Schauffele, Patrick Reed, Abraham Ancer, Viktor Hovland and Sam Burns.

Welcome to the official YouTube channel of the PGA TOUR.

Here you can find everything you need to stay up to date with the world’s foremost golf tour. Check in for highlights from every tournament plus player profiles, swing analysis and all the greatest shots and amazing moments.

Check out https://www.pgatour.com for complete coverage along with all the latest news, scoring, and stats!

Follow PGA TOUR online:
Instagram: https://instagram.com/pgatour/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PGATour
Twitter: https://twitter.com/PGATOUR
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/pgatour

Sign up for exclusive coverage – http://www.pgatourlive.com
PGA TOUR Superstore – http://www.pgatoursuperstore.com/

Comments

john white says:

Very funny.

James PSY says:

The dual-interviews should be reoccurring thing once in awhile! Was great

Prem Premkumar says:

You can't tee off the "wrong hole!" They teed off "from the wrong tee!"

Jds1616 says:

great work Greller lolol

sure2grip1 says:

Why is there 2 balls on the tee if it is not in play? Amateurish organiser.

A C. says:

another silly pga rule.

kaighSea says:

Why is that tee box even marked?

swish1onu says:

Why would they switch up the location of the tee box? Thats so confusing…

M L says:

Switching the tee boxes around was a dumb move

Kyle Knoblauch says:

This is honestly one of the funniest interviews ever! 😂🤣😂🤣😂 such a good sense of humor from both Jordan and Henrik.

Lando says:

Caddie forked up HHHUUUUUGGGGGEEEE

Rene Tvedt Pedersen says:

Absolute gentlemen. Just great to have Spieth and Stenson on tour. Great ambasasdors of the sport.

Mike says:

That’s quite a weird course setup that could even cause such a mixup.

Michael Garibay says:

Two good dudes with great sense of humors

darren360elite says:

This is frustrating on a few levels.

Mackaygolf says:

Stenson has always had a dry and hilarious sense of humor. Loved the fact that he took the opportunity to troll the press as though he was offended.

Ryan Franklin says:

Caddie fault! Fire them lol 🤣

Golfer4deer says:

We’ve all done a dumb mistake like this before.

dts929 says:

"It was only two shots each, so it wasn't a big deal". Delivered perfectly.

Sean E Sibley says:

Great work Caddies …fantastic Awareness.

SSimpson408 says:

Why does it matter if he hit it from behind the line of the tee box?

Alexander says:

Wow… Ah, What is Justin Rose pointing at LOL!

K x says:

If this were Sergio and Reed, people would be saying "they're dumb for not realizing and deserving of the penalties".

Winkmeista says:

Its not even a par 3 hole they were playing on! I could understand the penalty on a par 3 because then you are picking a tee that gives you a better angle
to the hole, but on a par 5 the best you can do is land a bit better on the fairway! I think the penalty shouldn't be given unless the unruly angle
gives a player a significant upgrade to score better.

Write a comment